"Russian auctions" in London. How justified our predictions
ARTinvestment.RU   08 июня 2017

In London, leading the auction house concluded a week of "Russian auction". Long before it began ARTinvestment.RU published a price forecast for Christie's, Sotheby's and Bonhams. And that's how did not match our expectations with reality

Posted earlier forecast ARTinvestment.RU originally was not "guessing," but rather a summary of rational expectations. My head was working conditional formula: reasonable price for the current market plus the London premium for the prestige and service. The authors of the forecast have assumed that the bout will be rare. As-то quite so ostentatiously overspend people will not. And diminished random people among the buyers. Now after a deal prices and keep in mind the theoretical value of such works in Moscow (and Moscow still cheaper). Yes, visitors of the Russian trade is morally ready to charge "for London": no problems with the export, exclusive, service, warranty, provenance for auctions. But they are willing to pay tens, not hundreds of percent as 10 years ago. I think that this time it is logical to expect the prices are about 25-50% higher than in Moscow — not more.

I'll tell you that in reality many did not agree. Contrary to expectations, the prices of some selected lots significantly exceeded reasonable (from our point of view). Sometimes several times. Why people are so overpaid — question without an answer. Definitely not a business. It turns out that buying for the sake of fun. In any case, it is better than leaving money in a casino.

Okay, nothing to do — read, as this time went by the prices. And Yes, except things from the forecast in this report, we added other interesting items with their prices. Let this not discourage you.

Start with Russian Christie's auction, which took place one day, Monday 5. In the catalog were 293 lot of painting, drawing and DPI. Total revenues across all categories — $6.5 million. we are mainly interested in works of art that were collected in the first 106 lots. In EVERY string of sold 79, or 74.5 %, of the lots. A little auction house in Russia can boast such a percentage of sales.

"portrait of a boy" by Boris Grigoriev was much more desirable for collectors lot than we expected. Estimate exceeded twice — with $161 million average estimate to $330 thousand

drawing "Moscow" Leon Bakst was sold. But, based on the result, including Commission Buyer's Premium, costume design for "Moscow" was sold at the start. And besides, the new owners found four more theatrical sketch Bakst (out of seven offered). With a sudden "shot" sketch of a costume Theban king CREON for the production of "Antigone". Lot exceeded estimate at least three times (estimate $200 128 500-154; the result of $484 822) and became the most expensive lot of the auction Christie's.

the Price of watercolor Konstantin Somov "Morning" also rose much higher than the estimate: with the launch of $72 thousand a lot reached $361 million (including Commission). Others to unexpectedly good sales is attributed the care of wooden sculptures of Stepan Erzya "Female head" for $of 144.6 million at a valuation of $25,7–38.5 thousand and the sale of the canvas "Seated Nude" Georgy Artemov for $152,71 thousand at estimé $38,55–64,25 thousand

Nonconformists, contrary to our expectations, made more modest. For "the Church" Dmitry Plavinsky, gave $32 million, within the estimate of $of 25.76–38.64 thousand And abstraction Lydia Masterkova made a final bid even higher, but only slightly — a result of $25.7 thousand including the fee (starting from $10.3 thousand). And in addition, have found new owners Zverev's works, Sitnikova, Nemukhin, Weisberg, Yakovlev and Novikov.

Tuesday 6 Jun, was sold out a much more powerful directory of Russian art from Sotheby's. A selection of paintings and drawings of the 201 lots sold at 61,1 % (with the hammer went lot 123). Total revenue of the auction of fine art Sotheby's — $12.7 million And another where-то $2.9 million managed to earn LRMC auction, held on the same day.

Top-лотами of the Sotheby's auction were two paintings of Isaac Levitan. Both slightly exceeded the level of $1 million (based on the Buyer's Premium). But at the same time b lesego format landscape "Summer" was sold below the minimum estimate of $1.24–1.8 million (as we expected), and more harandCherny landscape "Overgrown pond", though it was less than half, but left for the same $1.17 million including Commission.

So our favourite "Forest landscape" Constantine kryzhitskogo appreciated and collectors. The hammer price exceeded the estimate: the result of $290,5 thousand at estimé $99,3–149 thousand, We thought it would be higher than the estimate, but not so. Well, let's consider the vector of guessed.

the Story about the success of works by Ivan Aivazovsky we will start with a seascape of Odessa, 1868. This work exceeded the estimate by half: the result of a $414,6 million with the estimate of $155,1–232,65 thousand actually, of the seven exhibited works at the auction Aivazovsky buyers found six. What we wanted to prove. With adequate assessment there will always be willing. Our forecast for the "Landscape in moonlight" as a whole justified: the work went to the upper bound estimate — for $of 234.2 thousand All the other Aivazovska also went within or just above estimate.

Successfully sold two works by Konstantin Yuon. The picture "the Kremlin at night on the eve of the coronation of Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich" was written shortly after the completion of the stage scenery for the Opera "Boris Godunov" for Diaghilev's seasons in Paris. But that is a separate, finished paintings, in which Huon put his knowledge to the architecture of the Kremlin and Russian history. Work purchased for $631,7 thousand, much higher than the estimate of $232,65–323,1 thousand Second Huon — winter landscape "Beautiful day. Izmailovo" — went for $414,57 million with the estimate of $155,1–232,65 thousand Another lot of the top ten — on canvas of Peter Konchalovsky's "bathers" (author's title – "Willow"). The work exceeded the estimate by half and went for $631,7 thousand

Canvas Oscar Rabin, as we predicted, went above estimate, but within reason — for $30.7 thousand (estimate $14,9–22,3 thousand). Early Zverev's "Winter landscape with horse" (oil on paper) including Commission sold for $6,46 thousand (forecast AI — $5 million). Both, we assume, right.

Two white still life of Weisberg (both with an estimate of $37,2–62,1 thousand) became an ornament of a string of non-conformists. "Still life with cubes and ball" kept within the rating, it was bought at the upper limit of the estimate for $62 thousand, "still life with cubes and cylinders", which we predicted care of within the estimate for $50 thousand, in fact, exceeded the estimate by three times (the result of — about $170 thousand). I do not guess. Weisberg, of course, a favorite of collectors, but we did not expect that he will unfold such a battle.

figure Kustodiev "Dasha, the merchant's wife" has reached the price of $80 million, which, in principle, not so surprising, given the high quality watercolors and Chaliapin provenance. And graphic work of Lyubov Popova, in contrast, remained without a single bid (we assumed that he would leave within the estimate).

the Last dates but not least was the auction of Russian art Bonhams on June 7. Collection Bonhams in scope and quality FROM-стринга this year can be compared with the selection of Christie's. Of the 78 lots of painting and drawing is gone 51 (65 %).

Painting by Russian painter Andrey Ryabushkin "the village street" sold for top estimate — for $25.8 million including the fee of the auction house. We assumed that will not leave or, in extreme cases, leave to start. But who the-то much wanted. Suddenly.

the same bit is probably the bit when I sold the "Hunt" stelletsky. Price start from $129 thousand came to $331 thousand, the Result was as in those "old days", which commemorated the good word in our forecast (we modestly hoped for care of $160 thousand at best). And by the way, the other three works by Dmitry stelletsky, too, have found new owners. What can be said about the beautiful "Winter scene" of Stepan Kolesnikov. The estimate of $9-12,9 thousand was for the collectors prohibitive. Yes, as-то at Bonhams hits this time around very little. The auction went much better than we expected, — so happy.

In summary it should be noted that this time the projections we somewhat overestimated the likely success of the sixties and underestimated the struggle for the Russian classics. About the reasons we still think. But in General, this situation is weakly correlated with what we observed in the domestic auction market in Russia. More precisely, then do the opposite. The organizers of the London "Russian auction," congratulations on your success. Well the forecast... some predictions and be wrong it is nice.



Attention! All materials of the site and database of auction results ARTinvestment.RU, including illustrated reference information about the works sold at auctions, are intended for use exclusively for informational, scientific, educational and cultural purposes in accordance with Art. 1274 of the Civil Code. Use for commercial purposes or in violation of the rules established by the Civil Code of the Russian Federation is not allowed. ARTinvestment.RU is not responsible for the content of materials submitted by third parties. In case of violation of the rights of third parties, the site administration reserves the right to remove them from the site and from the database on the basis of an application from an authorized body.


Индексы арт-рынка ARTIMX
Индекс
Дата
Знач.
Изм.
ARTIMX
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
ARTIMX-RUS
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
Show:

Top 29

This site uses cookies, it can collect data about IP addresses and users. N 152-FZ «On Personal Data» and continue working with this site, you confirm your consent to the processing of personal data in accordance with the law N 152-FZ «On Personal Data» and «The policy of LTD «ArtIn» with regard to the processing of personal data».
Back to Top

«Русские торги» в Лондоне. Насколько оправдались наши прогнозы
ARTinvestment.RU   08 июня 2017

В Лондоне ведущие аукционные дома завершили неделю «русских торгов». Задолго до ее начала ARTinvestment.RU опубликовал ценовой прогноз для Christie’s, Sotheby’s и Bonhams. И вот как не совпали наши ожидания с реальностью

Опубликованный ранее прогноз ARTinvestment.RU изначально был не «угадайкой», а скорее сводкой рациональных ожиданий. В голове работала условная формула: разумная цена по текущему рынку плюс лондонская наценка за престиж и сервис. Составители прогноза исходили из предположения, что схватки будут редкостью. Как-то совсем уж демонстративно сорить деньгами люди не станут. Да и поубавилось случайных людей среди покупателей. Сейчас ведь многие разбираются в ценах и держат в голове теоретическую стоимость подобных работ в Москве (а в Москве все равно дешевле). Да, посетители русских торгов морально готовы к наценке «за Лондон»: за отсутствие проблем с вывозом, за эксклюзив, за уровень сервиса, за гарантии, за провенанс от первоклассных аукционов. Но переплачивать они готовы десятки, а не сотни процентов, как 10 лет назад. Думаю, что в этот раз логично рассчитывать на цены примерно на 25–50 % выше московских — не более. 

Забегая вперед, скажу, что в реальности многое не сошлось. Вопреки ожиданиям цены на некоторые выделенные нами лоты существенно превысили разумные (с нашей точки зрения). Иногда в несколько раз. Зачем люди так переплачивали — вопрос без ответа. Точно не бизнес. Получается, что покупают ради большого удовольствия. Во всяком случае, это лучше, чем оставить деньги в казино.

Ладно, делать нечего — читайте, как в этот раз вышло по ценам. И да, кроме вещей из прогноза в этот отчет мы добавили другие интересные лоты с их ценами. Пусть вас это не смущает.

Начнём с русских торгов Christie’s, которые прошли одним днем, в понедельник 5 июня. В каталог попало 293 лота живописи, графики и ДПИ. Суммарная выручка по всем категориям — $6,5 млн. Но нас главным образом интересуют произведения изобразительного искусства, которые были собраны в первые 106 лотов. В стринге ИЗО продали 79, или 74,5 %, лотов. Мало какой аукционный дом в России может похвастаться таким процентом продаж.

«Портрет мальчика» Бориса Григорьева оказался гораздо более желанным для коллекционеров лотом, чем мы предполагали. Эстимейт превышен вдвое — с $161 тыс. среднего эстимейта до $330 тыс.

Рисунок «Москва» Льва Бакста все же был продан. Но, исходя из результата с учетом комиссии Buyer’s Premium, эскиз костюма для «Москвы» был продан по старту. А кроме того, новых владельцев нашли еще четыре театральных эскиза Бакста (из семи предложенных). При этом неожиданно «выстрелил» эскиз костюма фиванского царя Креона для постановки «Антигоны». Лот превысил оценку минимум втрое (эстимейт $128 500–154 200; результат $484 822) и стал самым дорогим лотом всего аукциона Christie’s.

Цена на акварель Константина Сомова «Утро» тоже поднялась намного выше эстимейта: со старта в $72 тыс. лот достиг $361 тыс. (с учетом комиссии). К другим неожиданно хорошим продажам стоит отнести уход деревянной скульптуры Степана Эрьзи «Женская голова» за $144,6 тыс. при оценке $25,7–38,5 тыс., а также продажу полотна «Сидящая обнаженная» Георгия Артемова за $152,71 тыс. при эстимейте $38,55–64,25 тыс.

Нонконформисты, вопреки нашим ожиданиям, выступили скромнее. За «Церковь» Дмитрия Плавинского дали $32 тыс., в пределах эстимейта $25,76–38,64 тыс. А на абстракцию Лидии Мастерковой сделали финальную ставку пусть и выше оценки, но незначительно — результат $25,7 тыс. с учетом комиссии (старт с $10,3 тыс.). А кроме того, нашли новых владельцев работы Зверева, Ситникова, Немухина, Вейсберга, Яковлева и Новикова.

Во вторник, 6 июня, был распродан гораздо более мощный каталог русского искусства от Sotheby’s. Подборка живописи и графики из 201 лота разошлась на 61,1 % (с молотка ушло 123 лота). Суммарная выручка аукциона изобразительного искусства Sotheby’s — $12,7 млн. И еще где-то $2,9 млн удалось заработать на ДПИ аукционе, прошедшем в тот же день.

Топ-лотами аукциона Sotheby’s стали два полотна Исаака Левитана. Оба чуть превысили планку в $1 млн (это с учетом Buyer’s Premium). Но при этом большего формата пейзаж «Лето» был продан ниже минимального эстимейта $1,24–1,8 млн (как мы и предполагали), а более характерный пейзаж «Заросший пруд», пусть был и меньше в два раза, но ушел за те же $1,17 млн с учетом комиссии.

Так понравившийся нам «Лесной пейзаж» Константина Крыжицкого по достоинству оценили и коллекционеры. Цена молотка превысила оценку: результат $290,5 тыс. при эстимейте $99,3–149 тыс. Мы предполагали, что будет выше эстимейта, хотя и не настолько. Ну, будем считать, вектор угадали.

Рассказ об успехах работ Ивана Айвазовского мы начнем с морского пейзажа Одессы 1868 года. Эта работа превысила эстимейт вдвое: результат $414,6 тыс. при оценке $155,1–232,65 тыс. А вообще, из семи выставленных на торги работ Айвазовского покупателей нашли шесть. Что и требовалось доказать. При адекватной оценке желающие всегда будут. Наш прогноз по «Пейзажу в лунном свете» в целом оправдался: работа ушла по верхней границе эстимейта — за $234,2 тыс. Все остальные Айвазовские тоже ушли в пределах или чуть выше эстимейтов.

Удачно ушли с торгов две работы Константина Юона. Картина «Кремль ночью в канун коронации царя Михаила Фёдоровича» была написана вскоре после завершения работы над сценическими декорациями к опере «Борис Годунов» для дягилевских сезонов в Париже. Но это уже отдельное, законченное живописное произведение, в которое Юон вложил свои богатые знания архитектуры Кремля и русской истории. Работу приобрели за $631,7 тыс., сильно выше эстимейта $232,65–323,1 тыс. Второй Юон — зимний пейзаж «Прекрасный день. Измайлово» — ушел за $414,57 тыс. при оценке $155,1–232,65 тыс. Еще один лот из первой десятки — холст Петра Кончаловского «Купальщицы» (авторское название – «Вётлы»). Работа превысила оценку вдвое и ушла за $631,7 тыс.

Холст Оскара Рабина, как мы и прогнозировали, ушел выше эстимейта, но в пределах разумного — за $30,7 тыс. (оценка $14,9–22,3 тыс.). Ранний зверевский «Зимний пейзаж с лошадью» (бумага, масло) с учетом комиссии был продан за $6,46 тыс. (прогноз AI — $5 тыс.). Оба, будем считать, угадали.

Два белых натюрморта Владимира Вейсберга (оба с оценкой $37,2–62,1 тыс.) стали украшением стринга нонконформистов. «Натюрморт с кубами и шаром» удержался в пределах оценки, его купили по верхней планке эстимейта за $62 тыс. «Натюрморт с кубами и цилиндрами», которому мы предрекали уход в пределах эстимейта за $50 тыс., на деле превысил оценку втрое (результат — около $170 тыс.). Не угадали. Вейсберг, конечно, любимец коллекционеров, но мы не ожидали, что за него развернется такая битва.

Рисунок Кустодиева «Даша, купеческая жена» достиг цены $80 тыс., что, в принципе, не так удивительно, учитывая высокое качество акварели и шаляпинский провенанс. А графическая работа Любови Поповой, напротив, осталась без единой ставки (мы предполагали, что уйдет в пределах эстимейта).

Последним по дате проведения, но не по значимости был аукцион русского искусства Bonhams 7 июня. Подборку Bonhams по объему и качеству ИЗО-стринга в этом году можно сопоставить с подборкой Christie’s. Из 78 лотов живописи и графики ушел 51 (65 %).

Картину передвижника Андрея Рябушкина «По деревенской улице» продали по верхнему эстимейту — за $25,8 тыс. с учетом комиссии аукционного дома. Мы предполагали, что не уйдет или, в крайнем случае, уйдет по старту. Но кому-то сильно захотелось. Неожиданно.

Те же удила, вероятно, закусили, когда продавали «Охоту» Стеллецкого. Цена со старта $129 тыс. дошла до $331 тыс. Результат получился как в те самые «прежние времена», которые поминали добрым словом в нашем прогнозе (мы скромно рассчитывали на уход за $160 тыс. в лучшем случае). И кстати, остальные три произведения Дмитрия Стеллецкого тоже нашли новых владельцев. Чего нельзя сказать о красивой «Зимней сцене» Степана Колесникова. Оценка $9–12,9 тыс. все же оказалась для коллекционеров неподъемной. Да, как-то по Bonhams попаданий у нас в этот раз совсем мало. На аукционе прошло гораздо лучше, чем мы рассчитывали, — так радоваться ж надо.

В итоге нужно отметить, что в этот раз в прогнозах мы несколько переоценили возможный успех шестидесятников и недооценили борьбу за русскую классику. О причинах будем еще думать. Но в целом эта ситуация слабо коррелирует с тем, что мы наблюдаем на внутреннем аукционном рынке в России. Точнее, тут вообще все наоборот. Устроителей лондонских «русских торгов» поздравляем с успехом. Ну а прогнозу… В некоторых прогнозах и ошибиться бывает приятно.



  • 14.12.2017 Гессенские принцессы в Российской истории 19 декабря 2017 года во Франкфурте-на-Майне, в Музее Иконы, откроется выставка «Гессенские принцессы в Российской истории» — совместный масштабный российско-германский выставочный проект.
  • 14.12.2017 Нонконформисты в Липецке В липецкой галерее современного искусства «Буксир» открылась выставка живописи и графики художников-шестидесятников — Рабина, Яковлева, Мастерковой, Ворошилова и других
  • 14.12.2017 «Композиции и натюрморты» Бориса Мессерера в Академии художеств С 19 декабря по 8 января в выставочных залах РАХ на Пречистенке пройдет выставка живописных и графических произведений Бориса Асафовича Мессерера — портретов, пейзажей, натюрмортов, абстрактных композиций и др. — всего около 100 работ
  • 13.12.2017 «И свет на сцену». Петр Вильямс и Александра Коновалова Сегодня вечером в Музее АРТ4 открывается выставка из коллекции искусствоведа и исследователя Любови Агафоновой и галереи «Веллум»
  • 08.12.2017 Шестидесятник Игорь Шелковский в Новой Третьяковке Выставка — юбилейная. Шелковскому в этом году — 80. И празднует он с размахом. Центральным элементом выставки в Третьяковке станет гигантская скульптура, внутри которой могут находиться и передвигаться зрители
Индексы арт-рынка ARTIMX
Индекс
Дата
Знач.
Изм.
ARTIMX
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
ARTIMX-RUS
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
Показать:

Топ 32

На этом сайте используются cookie, может вестись сбор данных об IP-адресах и местоположении пользователей. Продолжив работу с этим сайтом, вы подтверждаете свое согласие на обработку персональных данных в соответствии с законом N 152-ФЗ «О персональных данных» и «Политикой ЗАО «Сейф» в отношении обработки персональных данных».
Наверх