How to lose money on "investment" in art. 11 "bad advice"
ARTinvestment.RU   29 августа 2018

In addition to the quite radical scenario with the purchase of fakes (they generally will not speak), there are some pretty reliable ways to return the money invested and permanently disappointed in the purchase of works of art

Sincerely in love with the art people are quickly deceived in their expectations is perhaps the most frustrating and hopeless loss for all. And for artists, and sellers of paintings, and for the community of collectors. This usually happens with people at the most vulnerable stage @- the first steps in collecting, when a long-cherished wish finally-то is supported by financial capability. In this moment of natural there is a neophyte's enthusiasm and desire to quickly gather his collection dim eyes, not allowing them to think critically. Then-то and it is discouraging to watch as one starts to buy up all that no hitting, and the second catches the money, paying ten times, and the third begins to buy up and store almost unknown, but his favorite artist.

it Ends, alas, bad. Once confident mountain-коллекционеры try what-то to sell previously purchased, and then-то at them eyes open. Well, then it depends on psychological make-up. Who-то will mourn briefly, then wave his hand, smile, and remember the rate of exchange for one beaten unbeaten and get back to shopping. The other, on the contrary, razobiditsya on the whole world and give myself a vow never, never to buy paintings. And such cases, alas, too much.

Why is this happening? There are quite a lot of reliable ways to come to be disappointed when buying art. And here's what you need to do:

bad advice 1. To close one's eyes the statistics of auction sales: not to check prices and to buy works by unknown artists who have previously never exhibited at the auctions. Why? It is clear as well. In-первых, all auctions are "cheating". And-вторых, if the artist for all the time never gone to auction, so obviously collectors hold his paintings, don't want to spend the time to part with them because they are expecting an even greater increase in prices. In the galleries of the author's work is also surely sweep cleaned at much higher prices. And auctions...who needs them? The time will come to sell – come up with what-нибудь, and there believe in the word. Yes, you have been warned that the lack of auction history, the author usually becomes a serious obstacle when you try to resale it works. For auction is a signal that liquidity is low (if not zero) and the actual price do not understand. But is it worth to think about it in advance?

bad advice 2. Do not listen to the profile advice and recommendations for novice collectors and rely solely on your own "I do." Most likely, everyone who bought the painting up to you, didn't understand anything in art or in prices. So these simpletons simply did not notice a lot of cool and cheap pieces that are destined soon to increase in price.

bad advice 3. To buy obviously expensive works of little-known authors. And "expensive" @- how much is this? In our practice, upper limit emotional shopping after the crisis of 2014 was set at 30 000. It is about the money that collectors are willing to take the risk painless: just liked @- decided to buy, without any serious commercial expectations. But whenpersuaded to buy 30 000 and 300 000, then... What-то terrible at this too, in principle, no, but about the investment aspect it is better to forget. Consider that you simply pleasantly spent money and, most likely, for a good cause.

bad advice 4. To argue so: "if a picture is old, foreign and overseas bought the auction – so she's valuable." In practice, to sell a foreign author in Russia is not an easy task. At the Moscow auctions even in the same full time interest in them was not. And so to the Western paintings of unknown artists – there was even more. Buy for fun – please. But not for investment.

bad advice 5. To catch a wide dragnet of work by little-known artists, including authors early in his career. All beginners are inspiring stories about van Gogh, Basquiat or Zverev. And all hope to buy your lucky lottery ticket. The market this great benefit. But you have to understand that from the point of view of the chances of resale is 99% not investment, and buying for pleasure, "for fun". That is, with money spent it is better mentally to say goodbye. Yes, we cannot completely exclude that in dragnet accidentally gets "goldfish" @- here for it and leave 1% probability. But not anymore.

bad advice 6. To invest in self - "promotion" of the unknown, but the attractive artist. It is about to rush to Fund the exhibition, to pay for creating directories, and as-нибудь to spend money wisely on promotion. Plan the ultimate goal of which, @- increase the value of paintings in a private collection. And nothing wrong with that, I do not discourage. But if you think about the recoverability of invested funds, then consider that the risks in this business today is just outrageous. To begin with, the promotion will take years, and no one can know how many there will effect. Even if everything was done correctly, "by the book", it is still a draft and may not "fly" in the mass of unpredictable reasons and circumstances. And finally: spend the money specifically will you and benefit from rising prices will benefit all the owners of works. And many of them say thank you, and will sell at prices better than you. In these stories, with the promotion even professionals sometimes fail. And as a novice with the investment plans there better not to meddle.

bad advice 7. Relying heavily on the experience – to fully trust the opinions "friend" of the seller, artist and other advisers. Maybe everything will be fine. Maybe not. Cases of breach of trust when someone-то "good" have advised newcomers to be a dime a dozen. The correct behavior from the beginning of collecting is to listen to everyone, but to think with your head. Money, in the end, the only risk you.

bad advice 8. Chase the big names, not going into details. Then explain without sarcasm, so as not to confuse @- question too important. The artist, whether he is arbitrarily well known, and is particularly valuable in periods of creativity, and value. Valuable time is when it found its way into art, formed a distinctive creative style, but strength and energy still abound. Well, are typically low-value periods earlier searches or, on the contrary, the later years, when energy. Accordingly, for the periodalways be quite willing, and the work of the low period of demand is much lower. The same applies to finished works. Sketches, unfinished work and things to sell is usually much more difficult, despite the big names. They are much more expensive and slower than a good finished work.

bad advice 9. To believe any success stories. Any stories about art-бизнесе. The most famous of them – about how someone-то friend the dealer sells the work of little-known artists for $5 000 – 10 000 – 15 000. And yet, about the fact that in Russia there are lots of people that have money do not believe: and they spend that 5000 rubles, which is $ 5,000 for the painting – all is one. And, of course, is to listen to the wonderful talk about, "if you need money urgently, no problem will sell for what I bought". This last one is just the threat of fables. In honor of her – the next important "bad advice". The most harmful.

bad advice 10. Not trying to sell a previously purchased the picture. Buy without stopping. Accumulate, store, "salt". And always wait until the last minute. Yet will not burn completely. To this and do not even try to put previously purchased at auctions or offer in the gallery. You as a collector, not a "huckster" what-то, right? Offer your painting, sellers, intermediaries – we know them, there the same crooks solid. Will "price down", to name the numbers up to 10 times lower than you buy for yourself. Yes, and complain that selling is not easy. Right, better to sit still and think about that art always goes up in price.

bad advice 11. Play against the market and rush to buy work it is not clear why falling of the artist. Art is not a commodity where prices fell today, and tomorrow "grow". If the painting began to fall, it could be a long haul. Why? For example, there is a natural revision of the value for the history of art, falling interest collectors. Or it so happens that the prices have risen from-за phase of active promotion, and then possible driving forces (heirs, gallerists, etc.) have dried up. And it all went down. The reasons can be a lot to analyze. It is important not to run to buy like mad in the hope that prices will recover to previous levels.

Things like simple. However, this rake attacked and continue to attack many novice collectors. The biggest mistake @- to fall into sin Samohvalov: "you can't be all, this track is only mine", "we just need to wait a little longer", "you need to wait a moment," and so forth And to fill a couple of cones and quick to make conclusions – it's perfectly normal. It may even be useful. But the greatest therapeutic effect has item 10. Just try periodically to sell the previously assembled: shroud quickly will fall from the eyes and experience accumulated invaluable.




Индексы арт-рынка ARTIMX
Индекс
Дата
Знач.
Изм.
ARTIMX
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
ARTIMX-RUS
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
Show:

Top 32

This site uses cookies, it can collect data about IP addresses and users. N 152-FZ «On Personal Data» and continue working with this site, you confirm your consent to the processing of personal data in accordance with the law N 152-FZ «On Personal Data» and «The policy of LTD «ArtIn» with regard to the processing of personal data».
Back to Top

КАЗАРИН Виктор Семёнович (1948) Парусник в ночи. 2007
Текущая ставка
16 500 RUB
Окончание торгов
21 Сен. 2018 12:00:00
НЕСТЕРОВА Наталия Игоревна (1944) Благовещение. 2003
Текущая ставка
475 000 RUB
Окончание торгов
21 Сен. 2018 12:00:00

Как потерять деньги на «инвестициях» в искусство. 11 «вредных советов»
ARTinvestment.RU   29 августа 2018

Помимо совсем уж радикальных сценариев с приобретением подделок (о них вообще говорить не будем), существует еще несколько довольно надежных способов не вернуть вложенные деньги и надолго разочароваться в покупке произведений искусства

Искренне влюбленные в искусство люди, быстро обманувшиеся в своих ожиданиях – это, пожалуй, самая досадная и безнадежная потеря для всех. И для художников, и для продавцов картин, и для сообщества коллекционеров. Обычно такое случается с людьми на самом уязвимом этапе - на первых шагах в коллекционировании, когда давнее желание наконец-то оказывается подкрепленным финансовыми возможностями. В этот момент естественный неофитский восторг и стремление поскорее собрать свою коллекцию застилают глаза, не давая мыслить критически. Вот тогда-то и приходится с прискорбием наблюдать, как один начинает скупать всё что ни попадя, второй бросается деньгами, переплачивая в десять раз, третий – начинает скупать и складировать работы почти неизвестного, но полюбившегося ему художника.

Заканчивается это, увы, плохо. Некогда уверенные в себе горе-коллекционеры пробуют что-то продать из ранее купленного, и тут-то у них открываются глаза. Ну, а дальше зависит от психического склада. Кто-то погрустит недолго, потом махнет рукой, улыбнется, вспомнит курс обмена одного битого на небитых, и вернется к покупкам. Другой же, наоборот, разобидится на весь белый свет и даст себе зарок больше никогда и ни за что не покупать картины. И таких случаев, увы, тоже немало.

Почему так происходит? Есть множество довольно надежных способов прийти к разочарованию при покупке искусства. И вот, что для этого нужно делать:

Вредный совет 1. Закрывать глаза на статистику аукционных продаж: не проверять цены и покупать работы неизвестных художников, которые ранее вообще не выставлялись на аукционах. Зачем? Ну ясно же. Во-первых, все аукционы – «жульничество». А, во-вторых, если художник за все время ни разу не выставлялся на аукционах, значит явно коллекционеры придерживают его картины, не хотят до поры до времени с ними расставаться, потому что ждут еще большего роста цен. В галереях работы автора тоже наверняка сметают подчистую по куда более высоким ценам.  А аукционы…кому они нужны? Наступит время продавать – придумаем что-нибудь, а там поверят на слово. Да, вас предупреждали, что отсутствие аукционной истории у автора обычно становится серьезным препятствием при попытке дальнейшей перепродажи его произведений. Для аукционов это сигнал, что ликвидность низкая (если не нулевая), а с реальными ценами вообще непонятно. Но стоит ли об этом думать заранее?    

Вредный совет 2. Не слушать профильные советы и рекомендации для начинающих коллекционеров и полагаться исключительно на собственное «а мне нравится». Скорее всего, все, кто покупал картины до вас, ничего не понимали ни в искусстве, ни в ценах. Поэтому эти простофили попросту не заметили массу классных и дешевых произведений, которые вскоре просто обречены вырасти в цене.

Вредный совет 3. Покупать заведомо дорого работы малоизвестных авторов. А «дорого» - это сколько?  По нашей практике верхняя планка эмоциональных покупок после кризиса 2014 года установилась на уровне 30 000 рублей. Это примерно те деньги, которыми коллекционеры готовы безболезненно рискнуть: просто понравилось - решил купить, без всяких серьезных коммерческих ожиданий. Но вот когда уговаривают купить не за 30 000, а за 300 000, то… Чего-то ужасного в этом тоже в принципе нет, но про инвестиционный аспект лучше сразу забыть. Считайте, что вы просто приятно потратили деньги и, скорее всего, на доброе дело. 

Вредный совет 4. Рассуждать так: «если картина старая, иностранная и куплена на зарубежном аукционе – значит она ценная». На практике продать иностранного автора в России – это непростая задача. На московских аукционах даже в прежние сытые времена интереса к ним не было. А уж к западным картинам неизвестных художников – не было и подавно. Купить для удовольствия – пожалуйста. Но не для инвестиций.    

Вредный совет 5. Ловить широким бреднем работы малоизвестных художников, в том числе авторов в начале карьеры. Всех новичков вдохновляют истории про Ван Гога, Баскию или Зверева. И все надеются купить свой счастливый лотерейный билет. Рынку от этого большая польза. Но надо понимать, что с точки зрения шансов на перепродажу это на 99% не инвестиции, а покупки ради удовольствия, «for fun». То есть, с потраченными деньгами лучше сразу мысленно попрощаться. Да, нельзя полностью исключать, что в бредень случайно попадет «золотая рыбка» - вот для нее и оставим 1% вероятности. Но не больше.

Вредный совет 6. Вложиться в самостоятельную «раскрутку» неизвестного, но симпатичного вам художника. Речь о том, чтобы броситься финансировать выставки, платить за создание каталогов, и еще как-нибудь грамотно тратить деньги на продвижение. План, конечная цель которого, - повысить стоимость картин в собственной коллекции. И ничего плохого в этом нет, я вас не отговариваю. Но если вы думаете о возвратности вложенных средств, то учтите, что риски в этом деле сегодня – просто запредельные. Начать с того, что на продвижение уйдут годы, и никто не может знать, через сколько наступит эффект. Даже если все делалось правильно, «по учебнику», то все равно проект может «не полететь» по массе непредсказуемых причин и обстоятельств. И, наконец: тратить деньги будете конкретно вы, а выгодой от роста цен воспользуются все владельцы работ. И многие из них скажут спасибо, и начнут продавать по ценам лучше, чем у вас. В таких историях с продвижением даже профессионалы порой терпят фиаско. А уж новичку с инвестиционными планами туда лучше бы вовсе не соваться.

Вредный совет 7. Сильно полагаться на знакомства – целиком доверять мнениям «знакомого» продавца, художника и других советчиков. Может все и будет нормально. А может нет. Случаев злоупотребление доверием, когда кто-то «добрый» насоветовал новичкам – пруд пруди.  Правильное поведение с самого начала коллекционирования – это слушать всех, но думать своей головой. Деньгами, в конце концов, рискуете только вы.    

Вредный совет 8. Гнаться за громкими именами, не вникая в детали. Тут объясню без сарказма, чтоб не запутать -  вопрос уж слишком важный. У художника, будь он сколь угодно известным, есть как особо ценные периоды в творчестве, так и малоценные. Ценный период – это когда уже найден свой путь в искусстве, сформировалась характерная творческая манера, а сил и энергии еще предостаточно. Ну, а малоценными обычно являются периоды ранних поисков или, наоборот, поздние годы, когда уходит энергетика. Соответственно, на ценный период всегда будет достаточно желающих, а на работы малоценного периода спрос будет гораздо ниже. То же касается законченности произведений. Наброски, эскизы, рабочие и незаконченные вещи продать обычно намного сложнее, несмотря на громкие имена. И дорожают они куда медленнее, чем хорошие законченные работы.

Вредный совет 9. Верить любым историям успеха. Любым небылицам об арт-бизнесе. Самые известные из них – про то, как чей-то знакомый дилер перепродает работы малоизвестных художников за $5 000 – 10 000 – 15 000. А еще, про то, что в России есть масса людей, которые деньги вообще не считают: и им потратить что 5000 рублей, что 5000 долларов за картину – все едино. Ну и, конечно, стоит послушать чудесные разговоры про то, «если срочно понадобятся деньги – без проблем продашь за что купил». Вот эта последняя – просто самая опасная из небылиц. В честь нее – следующий важный «вредный совет». Самый вредный.

Вредный совет 10. Не пробовать продавать ранее купленные картины. Покупайте без остановки. Копите, храните, «солите». А с продажей всегда тяните до последнего момента. Пока не припечет окончательно. До этого даже и не вздумайте выставлять ранее купленное на аукционы или предлагать в галереи. Вы же коллекционер, а не «барыга» какой-то, правда? Предлагать свои картины продавцам, посредникам – знаем мы их, там же жулье сплошное. Начнут «цену сбивать», называть цифры в 10 раз ниже, чем вы сами покупали. Да еще и жаловаться будут, что продать нелегко. Право, лучше сидеть на месте и думать о том, что искусство всегда растет в цене.

Вредный совет 11. Играть против рынка и бросаться покупать работы непонятно почему дешевеющего художника. Искусство – это не биржевой товар, где цены сегодня упали, а завтра «отрастут». Если картины художника начали заметно дешеветь, то все может оказаться всерьез и надолго. Почему? Например, происходит естественный пересмотр значения для истории искусства, падает интерес коллекционеров. Или бывает так, что цены росли из-за фазы активной раскрутки, а потом возможности движущих сил (наследников, галеристов и т.д.) иссякли. И все пошло на спад. Причин может быть много, нужно анализировать. Важно не бежать покупать сломя голову в надежде, что цены как минимум восстановятся на прежних уровнях. 

Вещи вроде бы простые. Тем не менее, на эти грабли наступали и продолжают наступать многие начинающие коллекционеры. Самая большая ошибка - впасть в грех самоуговоров: «нельзя быть как все», «колея эта только моя», «просто надо подождать подольше», «нужно выждать момент» и пр. А набить пару шишек и быстро сделать выводы – это совершенно нормально. Может даже полезно. Ну а самым большим терапевтическим эффектом обладает пункт 10. Просто пробуйте периодически продавать ранее собранное: пелена быстро спадет с глаз и опыт накопится просто бесценный.  



Индексы арт-рынка ARTIMX
Индекс
Дата
Знач.
Изм.
ARTIMX
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
ARTIMX-RUS
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
Показать:

Топ 19

На этом сайте используются cookie, может вестись сбор данных об IP-адресах и местоположении пользователей. Продолжив работу с этим сайтом, вы подтверждаете свое согласие на обработку персональных данных в соответствии с законом N 152-ФЗ «О персональных данных» и «Политикой ЗАО «Сейф» в отношении обработки персональных данных».
Наверх