Literature: Richard H. Rush, Art as an Investment
ARTinvestment.RU   01 апреля 2020

The first edition of the investment approach to buying art, published in 1961

Art as an Investment

author: Richard H. Rush
publication: 1961
418 pages
publishing: BonanzaBooks, USA
ASIN: B0006AX5EM

the Graduate of Harvard business-школы Richard rush amazingly lucky: the beginning of his writing career had on "Golden age" of collecting the late 1950-х years. In the United States, after world war II and the recession of 1956, the newly formed middle class and rapidly growing personal capital wealthy. For the money and the other began to actively fight the real estate markets, luxury goods and art. In particular, by the end of 1950-х in one new-Йорке there were more than 500 private art-дилеров. It was then that the rush and received a Commission to write a book about proper investment of money in art.

Despite some naivety, the monograph is written in step with the times, given the parallel development of the stock market of the late 1950-х and economic theory in General. The author really dwells on the major periods and schools, accompanying the description with figures and retelling stories of the insiders of the art world. The description of the current system of art-рынка given only 10 pages out of 400, and the same — principles of collection based on the author's experience. That can unconditionally supply the author plus is the manually collected data on the auction results of more than two hundred artists (when he published a book, before the advent of Artnet remained for 28 years. — AI.). The book, produced by Michael Moses and David may (Mei & Moses Index), Anders Petterson (Art of Tactic), Claire McAndrew (Arts Economics) and many other art-аналитиков new generation, of course, interested researchers of the art market. Especially its history.

Following the monograph "Art as an investment" in the 1960-х Richard rush, released 16 other best-selling books: the object of his attention became Antiques, cars and other collectibles — down to things with the sales of escheated property. In 1980-х he received a professorship at the American University of Washington and taught the fundamentals of investment activities at the Smithsonian. In the circle of his friends was listed as major collectors of art — in particular, former US President Gary Truman and industrialist Jean Paul Getty, founder of the eponymous Museum in Los-Анджелесе. The rush also was a collector of art in his collection was listed the old masters of Holland, France and Italy. In short, we have before us the portrait of a successful art-дилера, who came to the profession via journalism. But traded the author is not an art, and information.

In conclusion, we present 5 best, in our opinion, quotes from the book of Richard rush:

1. "Today, to buy the work of Paul Gauguin for $100k — unacceptable waste".

2. "Art that looks like a Rorschach test, at the-видимому, enjoying his sunset". Meant galaxy abstract Impressionists, particularly clyfford still.

3. "the lowest rates of growth of the cost of the old European masters, particularly of the Venetian school". In the author's collection figure was a lot. Perhaps in this way he bought them at a discount?

4. "directoriesthe British auctions, it is possible to understand how the auction house is confident in the authenticity of the work. If the lot is entitled @ldquo;Сэр Peter Paul [email protected]; — front of us a genuine work, if there is “П. П. Рубенс” — auction doubts. And when you see one name @ldquo;Рубенс@rdquo; — rather, we have before us the forgery".

5. "Suggest the time to invest in art today: 20 years of art-рынок likely to die".



Attention! All materials of the site and database of auction results ARTinvestment.RU, including illustrated reference information about the works sold at auctions, are intended for use exclusively for informational, scientific, educational and cultural purposes in accordance with Art. 1274 of the Civil Code. Use for commercial purposes or in violation of the rules established by the Civil Code of the Russian Federation is not allowed. ARTinvestment.RU is not responsible for the content of materials submitted by third parties. In case of violation of the rights of third parties, the site administration reserves the right to remove them from the site and from the database on the basis of an application from an authorized body.


Индексы арт-рынка ARTIMX
Индекс
Дата
Знач.
Изм.
ARTIMX
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
ARTIMX-RUS
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
Show:

Top 34

This site uses cookies, it can collect data about IP addresses and users. N 152-FZ «On Personal Data» and continue working with this site, you confirm your consent to the processing of personal data in accordance with the law N 152-FZ «On Personal Data» and «The policy of LTD «ArtIn» with regard to the processing of personal data».
Back to Top

Литература: Richard H. Rush, Art as an Investment
ARTinvestment.RU   01 апреля 2020

Первое издание об инвестиционном подходе к покупке предметов искусства, вышедшее в 1961 году

Art as an Investment

автор: Richard H. Rush
год издания: 1961
418 страниц
издательство: BonanzaBooks, США
ASIN: B0006AX5EM

Выпускнику Гарвардской бизнес-школы Ричарду Рашу удивительно повезло: начало его писательской карьеры пришлось на «золотой век» коллекционирования конца 1950-х годов. В США, после Второй мировой войны и рецессии 1956 года, заново формировался средний класс и стремительно рос личный капитал состоятельных людей. За деньги и тех и других стали активно бороться рынки недвижимости, предметов роскоши и искусства. В частности, уже к концу 1950-х в одном Нью-Йорке насчитывалось более 500 частных арт-дилеров. Именно тогда Рашу и поступил заказ на написание книги о грамотном вложении денег в искусство.

Несмотря на некоторую наивность, монография написана в ногу со временем, учитывая параллельное развитие фондового рынка конца 1950-х и экономической теории в целом. Автор очень подробно останавливается на основных периодах и школах, сопровождая описание цифрами и пересказами историй инсайдеров мира искусства. Описанию текущей системы арт-рынка уделено всего 10 страниц из 400, и столько же — принципам формирования коллекции на основе авторского опыта. Что можно безоговорочно поставить автору в плюс, так это собранные вручную данные о результатах аукционных торгов более чем по двумстам художникам (когда вышла книга, до появления Artnet оставалось 28 лет. — AI.). Книга, взрастившая Майкла Мозеса и Дэвида Мея (Mei & Moses Index), Андерса Петтерсона (Art Tactic), Клэр Макэндрю (Arts Economics) и многих других арт-аналитиков нового поколения, несомненно, заинтересует исследователей рынка искусства. Особенно его истории.

Вслед за монографией «Искусство, как объект инвестиций» в 1960-х Ричард Раш выпустил 16 других бестселлеров: объектом его пристального внимания стали антиквариат, автомобили и прочие объекты коллекционирования — вплоть до вещей с распродаж выморочного имущества. В 1980-х он получил профессорскую должность в Американском университете Вашингтона и преподавал основы инвестиционной деятельности в Смитсоновском институте. В кругу его друзей значились крупные коллекционеры искусства — в частности, бывший Президент США Гари Труман и промышленник Жан Пол Гетти, основатель одноименного музея в Лос-Анджелесе. Сам Раш тоже коллекционировал искусство: в его собрании значились старые мастера Голландии, Франции и Италии. Словом, перед нами портрет успешного арт-дилера, который пришел в профессию через публицистику. Но торговал автор не искусством, а информацией.

В заключение мы приведем 5 лучших, на наш взгляд, цитат из книги Ричарда Раша:

1. «Сегодня покупать работу Поля Гогена за $100 тыс. — недопустимое расточительство».

2. «Искусство, внешне похожее на тест Роршаха, по-видимому, переживает свой закат». Имелась в виду плеяда абстрактных импрессионистов, в частности Клиффорд Стилл.

3. «Наиболее низкие показатели роста стоимости имеют старые европейские мастера, в частности Венецианской школы». В коллекции автора таковых было немало. Возможно, таким образом он их приобретал с дисконтом?

4. «По каталогам британских аукционов можно понять, насколько аукционный дом уверен в подлинности работы. Если лот озаглавлен “Сэр Питер Пауль Рубенс” — перед нами подлинная работа, если стоит “П. П. Рубенс” — аукцион сомневается. А когда вы видите одну фамилию “Рубенс” — скорее всего, перед нами подделка».

5. «Советуем успеть инвестировать в искусство сегодня: через 20 лет арт-рынок, скорее всего, умрет».


Постоянный адрес статьи:
https://artinvestment.ru/invest/events/20200401_literature.html
https://artinvestment.ru/en/invest/events/20200401_literature.html

При цитировании ссылка на https://artinvestment.ru обязательна

Внимание! Все материалы сайта и базы данных аукционных результатов ARTinvestment.RU, включая иллюстрированные справочные сведение о проданных на аукционах произведениях, предназначены для использования исключительно в информационных, научных, учебных и культурных целях в соответствии со ст. 1274 ГК РФ. Использование в коммерческих целях или с нарушением правил, установленных ГК РФ, не допускается. ARTinvestment.RU не отвечает за содержание материалов, представленных третьими лицами. В случае нарушения прав третьих лиц, администрация сайта оставляет за собой право удалить их с сайта и из базы данных на основании обращения уполномоченного органа.


Индексы арт-рынка ARTIMX
Индекс
Дата
Знач.
Изм.
ARTIMX
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
ARTIMX-RUS
13/07
1502.83
+4,31%
Показать:

Топ 37

На этом сайте используются cookie, может вестись сбор данных об IP-адресах и местоположении пользователей. Продолжив работу с этим сайтом, вы подтверждаете свое согласие на обработку персональных данных в соответствии с законом N 152-ФЗ «О персональных данных» и «Политикой ООО «АртИн» в отношении обработки персональных данных».
Наверх